Our Mission

The mission of the Raleigh Historic Development Commission is to identify, preserve, protect, and promote Raleigh’s historic resources.

Design Guidelines Public Process Steering Committee

Blount Street

Jodi Heyens-Strenkowski (Landmark Owner)
Jimmy Thiem (Landmark Owner)

Boylan Heights

Steve Bryan
Lee Kirby

Capitol Square

Betsy Haywood (Landmark Owner)
Charles and Karen Petrini-Poli (Landmark Owners)


Chris Crew
Ashley Morris

Prince Hall

Will Jeffers


Laurie Jackson 
Scott Shackleton



Staff, Department of Planning and Development

Dan Becker
Martha Lauer
Tania Tully


Andy Sachs

Historic Overlay Districts (HODs)

Oberlin Village was designated a General Historic Overlay District (HOD-G) on February 6, 2018.  READ MORE


Raleigh Historic Landmarks (RHLs)

On October 3, Raleigh City Council adopted ordinances for 4 new Raleigh Historic Landmarks. READ MORE